Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Grace Thomas Award

Dr. Grace Thomas, during her long service to the University of Georgia, placed the education and welfare of undergraduates above her many other duties and responsibilities to the benefit of students and also the department as a whole. The Grace Thomas Award was created to acknowledge Dr. Thomas' efforts by recognizing annually the accomplishments of an outstanding undergraduate in what is now the department of Cellular Biology. The recipient of the award is expected to have excelled in several areas associated within the discipline, including classroom, seminar, and research performance.

Listed below are the past winners of this prestigous award.
1988 Christopher J. McKenzie 
1989 Patrick Abbot 
1990 S. Rebecca Yeomans 
1991 Nancy E. McIntyre 
1992 Robin Ann Kundra 
1993 Kristin Costley 
1994 Shawn H. Turk 
1996 Robert C. Cartwright 
1997 William J. Kaiser 
1998 Brandon R. Clements 
1999 Ryan C. Arata 
2000 Mihir M. Kamdar 
2001 Benjamin Tanner 
2002 John H. Woodruff 
2003 Katherine Williams 
2004 Nwakaso Umejiego 
2005 Ashley E. Owen 
2006 Dustin Williams 
2007 David Burke
2008 Jessica Bryant
2009 Nisha Gupta
2010 L. Megan Beers
2011 M. Logan Davis
2012 Michael S. Burel
2013 David L. Owen
2014 Marianne M. Ligon
2015 Lina Tibavinsky
2023 Sahana Saravanan
2024 Krishie Desai


Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Got More Questions?

Undergraduate Inquiries:

Registration and Credit

AP Credit, Section Changes, Overrides,

Graduate Inquiries:

Contact Us!

Associate Head: 

Dr. Cordula Schulz, 706-542-3515

Main office phone: 706-542-3310

Fax: 706-542-4271

Head of the Department: Dr. Dennis Kyle